top of page

Chapter History

On Sunday, March 12, 1978 Lambda Upsilon Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Sorority, Incorporated was born from the desire of Dr. Mable Parker McLean to reclaim members in the Concord, North Carolina area. Five newly initiated members, together with 20 members of Alpha Kappa Alpha residing in the Concord area, charted a new chapter, spirited with the commitment of service.

The 25 chartering members were: Joyce Lyons, Gloria Bost, Carolyn Connor, Elaine King, Vivian Wilson, Carolyn Powell, Martha Lipscomb, Ola Stranger, Dorothy Bost, Patricia Woods, Emma Witherspoon, Johnnie Hunt, Betty Beatty, Ethel Aaron, Teresa Torrence, Terry Stafford, Mable Mc Lean, Elaine Jordan, Johnnie Tillman, Priscilla Green, Karen Jones, Yvonne Pettis, Harriett Tyler, Bernice Moore and Vivian Shrives.

Over the years, Lambda Upsilon Omega has fostered its commitment to education by annually awarding college scholarships to local high school students and offering financial donations to benefit students of historically black colleges and universities (HBCUs), including Concord's very own Barber Scotia College.

​Lambda Upsilon Omega will continue to sow seeds of purpose in Cabarrus County through our community service, education, fundraising, mentoring and training programs.

The Past Chapter Presidents are:
Joyce Lyons (1978), Gloria Bost (1979), Dr. Mable Parker McLean (1980), Karen Marquess Jones (1981-1982), Barbara Atwater (1983-1984), Sadie Nesbitt (1985-1986), Vernice Dungee (1987-1988), Henri Rumph (1989-1990, 2001-2002), Mary Thomas (1991-1992, 1995-1996), Ruth Curry (1993-1994, 2004-2006), Barbara Black (1997-1998), Barbara Alexander (1999), Eleanor Stafford (2000), Ruth Davis Berry (2002-2004), Terry Stafford Scott (2007-2008), Janice Collymore (2009-2010), Dimples Williamson (2011-2012), Christy Mercer Allsbrook (2013-2014)

Get to know us by clicking the link below

Timeless Service with an Unwavering Heart

The Making of Lambda Upsilon Omega Chapter

Author: Sister Mary Thomas

bottom of page